First Alert Weather Alert: Flood Warning expires at 10:04 PM on 4/24, issued at 10:04 PM Blackshear, GA | Bristol, GA | Mershon, GA | Millwood, GA

FCS has one-third of new football programs

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 7/11/2013 3:02 pm

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - The FCS will be the launching pad for four of the 12 new college football teams that will take the field for the first time this season.

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame reports that nine of the programs will enter on the NCAA level - a record number.

The four from the FCS are independent Charlotte, which eventually will move to the FBS level; Pioneer Football League members Stetson and Mercer, the latter of which will join the Southern Conference in 2014; and Houston Baptist, a future Southland Conference member whose first season is being classified by the university as a developmental season.

College Football Programs Launching in 2013

(information courtesy National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame)

Alderson Broaddus University (Philippi, W.Va.): NCAA Division II, Independent - head coach Dennis Creehan.

Berry College (Mount Berry, Ga.): NCAA Division III, Southern Athletic Association - head coach Tony Kunczewski.

Florida Tech (Melbourne, Fla.): NCAA Division II, Gulf South Conference - head Coach Steve R. Englehart II.

Hendrix College (Conway, Ark.): NCAA Division III, Southern Athletic Association - head coach Justin Buchanan.

Houston Baptist University (Houston, Texas): NCAA Division I FCS, (developmental season in 2013, joining the Southland Conference in 2014) - head coach Vic Shealy.

Mercer University (Macon, Ga.): NCAA Division I FCS, Pioneer Football League (joining the Southern Conference in 2014) - head coach Bobby Lamb.

Oklahoma Baptist University (Shawnee, Okla.): NAIA, Central States Football League - head coach Chris Jensen.

Reinhardt University (Waleska, Ga.): NAIA, Mid-South Conference - head coach Danny Cronic.

Southwestern University (Georgetown, Texas): NCAA Division III, Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - coach Joe Austin.

Stetson University (DeLand, Fla.): NCAA Division I FCS, Pioneer Football League - head coach Roger Hughes.

University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, N.C.): NCAA Division I FCS, Independent (starting in 2013 and subsequently joining the FBS and Conference USA in 2015) - head coach Brad Lambert.

Warner University (Lake Wales, Fla.): NAIA, Independent (2013) - head coach Jeff Schaum.

Team Schedules
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.