First Alert Weather Alert: Flood Warning expires at 8:00 AM on 4/18, issued at 10:44 AM Bryceville, FL | Callahan, FL | Fernandina Beach, FL | Glen Saint Mary, FL

Buescher returns to site of first truck win

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 4/18/2013 4:49 pm

"There's no question the season hasn't started off the way our team was hoping," Buescher said. "It's not because we haven't run well. I feel like we are always in contention for a win, but we've just been bitten by some bad luck so far and don't have the end result to show for it."

Kansas has become a special place for Buescher. The Turner Scott Motorsports driver recorded his first career truck win at this 1.5-mile racetrack. He won three more races during the 2012 season to capture the series championship.

"Kansas is definitely a special place to me and getting my first Truck Series win there was a dream come true," he said. "With the track being repaved last summer, I feel like it is a totally different track, but I feel like we can get a handle on the new surface and get the finish this team deserves."

While Buescher might be a little bit behind at this point of the season, rookie Jeb Burton isn't. The 20-year-old Burton has won the pole for the last two races -- Martinsville and Rockingham. He has finished no worse than seventh this year and is presently second in points (-16).

"This season has started out just the way we wanted it to, and I'm ready to keep the momentum going," Burton said. "Getting my first pole award at Martinsville Speedway was awesome, but doing it two weekends in a row really shows how hard my team is working for the results we're getting. I don't have a lot of experience at Kansas Speedway, so I'm definitely looking to gain more this weekend and walk away with another solid finish."

There have been 12 different winners in as many truck races at Kansas. Todd Bodine (2005), Hornaday (2008), Sauter (2010) and Buescher (2012) are those drivers competing in this race that have previously won here.

Kyle Busch and Logano are those Sprint Cup Series regulars on the entry list for this event. Busch will drive his own No. 51 Toyota, while Joey Logano is behind the wheel of the No. 19 Ford for Brad Keselowski Racing. Logano finished second at Rockingham. Kyle Larson won the race there but is not entered for Kansas.

Thirty-six teams are on the preliminary entry list for the SFP 250.

Series: NASCAR Camping World. Date: Saturday, April 20. Race: SFP 250. Site: Kansas Speedway. Track: 1.5-mile oval. Start time: 2 p.m. ET. Laps: 167. Miles: 250.5. 2012 Winner: James Buescher. Television: Speed. Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio.

Action Sports 360 ยป
Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.