• Tropical Storm Nate: Gov. Rick Scott issues state of emergency declaration for 29 Florida counties

    By: Action News Jax


    LATEST: Nate expected to make speed up, strengthen before landfall Sunday

    Florida Gov. Rick Scott has declared a state of emergency for 29 Florida counties Thursday in preparation for Tropical Storm Nate's expected landfall.

    Nate is expected to strengthen to a Category 1 Hurricane as it nears the U.S. 

    It is expected to make landfall west of Florida as a tropical storm.

    Counties included in the state of emergency declaration include Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Baker, Union, Bradford and Alachua.

    "Tropical Storm Nate is headed north toward our state and Florida must be prepared. I have continued to be briefed by the Florida Division of Emergency Management on Tropical Storm Nate and while current forecast models have the storm’s center west of Florida, we must be vigilant and get prepared," Scott said in a statement. 

    LOCAL: Jacksonville-based Carnival Elation to resume service Saturday

    "Today, given these forecasts, I have declared a state of emergency for 29 counties in Florida to make certain that state, federal and local governments are able to work together and ensure resources are dispersed to local communities. By declaring an emergency in these counties, we can also ensure that there is no hindrance in the transportation of supplies and assets. I urge all Floridians to remain vigilant and stay alert to local weather and news and visit FLGetAPlan.com today as we all prepare for Tropical Storm Nate. We will keep monitoring and issuing updates on Tropical Storm Nate as it approaches the Gulf Coast.” 

    Click here to read Gov. Scott's full executive order on the state of emergency declaration ahead of Tropical Storm Nate.

    Next Up: