The U.S. Department of State reveals new list of countries to avoid for travel

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — Last week, the U.S. Department of State warned it would be making changes to include 80 percent of the world’s countries.

The Department says the advisories better reflect travel health notices issued by the CDC and consider things like access to COVID-19 testing and travel restrictions on U.S. citizens.

STORY: Florida Senate passes elections-related bill that would change vote-by-mail requirements

Mexico and Canada have made the list, along with Costa Rica — a popular travel destination — in Central America.

The Caribbean is also heavily represented, along with the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Dominican Republic.

To see the full list click here.