• Bruce Springsteen announces 'Western Stars,' first solo studio album in 5 years

    By: Kelcie Willis, Cox Media Group National Content Desk


    Bruce Springsteen is releasing his first solo studio album in five years, according to a Thursday news release. It’s his 19th studio album overall.

    Out June 14, “Western Stars” is inspired by Southern California pop music from the late ‘60s and early ‘70s.

    >> Read more trending news 

    “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements,” Springsteen said in a statement Thursday. “It’s a jewel box of a record.”

    The 13-song album is produced by Springsteen, who wrote all the songs and plays multiple instruments on the record.

    The first single,“Hello Sunshine,” will be available Friday and the music video will be released at midnight. “Western Stars” will also be available for preorder the same day.

    The track list for “Western Stars” is below:

    1. “Hitch Hikin’”

    2. “The Wayfarer”

    3. “Tucson Train”

    4. “Western Stars”

    5. “Sleepy Joe’s Cafe”

    6. “Drive Fast (The Stuntman)”

    7. “Chasin’ Wild Horses”

    8. “Sundown”

    9. “Somewhere North of Nashville”

    10. “Stones”

    11. “There Goes My Miracle”

    12. “Hello Sunshine”

    13. “Moonlight Motel”

    Next Up: