PUTNAM COUNTY, Fla. — The Putnam County Sheriff’s Office announced Sunday that it will begin issuing civil citations to any student caught with a vape on a school campus. The policy enforcement took effect immediately across the county, a sheriff’s office social media post states.
Vaping on school grounds has reached epidemic levels, the sheriff’s office said. The sheriff’s office noted it has spent years collaborating with the Putnam County School District to educate students about the risks of vaping, but officials are now moving forward with a zero-tolerance policy.
Under Florida law, individuals under age 21 are prohibited from possessing tobacco or vape products. State statutes also prohibit vaping in enclosed workplaces, public spaces and within 1,000 feet of any public or private school.
“Under Florida Statutes it is illegal to possess, that means have on your person, tobacco or vape products,” the Putnam County Sheriff’s Office said in a statement. “Additionally, under Florida Statutes it is prohibited from being used in enclosed workplaces and public spaces. Lastly, it is also unlawful for anyone under 21 to smoke or vape within 1,000 feet of a public or private school.”
Students who receive a juvenile citation will be placed into a diversion program. Potential program elements include community service, such as the SWEAT program, referrals to substance abuse treatment or participation in Teen Court.
The enforcement policy extends beyond physical school grounds to include off-campus school-sponsored activities, such as field trips and after-school events. Sheriff’s office officials asked parents and guardians to discuss the rules directly with students.
“We encourage parents and guardians to inform their students that vapes on campus are illegal and will now be subject to a judicial and diversionary process,” the sheriff’s office said. “While youth under 21 should not have vapes in general, this matter applies specifically to school campuses and activities involving schools off campus such as field trips and after-school activities.”
Addressing common responses from students, the sheriff’s office noted that claims of holding a vape for a peer or forgetting to leave a device at home will not prevent a citation from being issued.
“Florida law is clear,” the agency stated. “No one under 21 is to possess vapes.”
>>> STREAM ACTION NEWS JAX LIVE <<<
[DOWNLOAD: Free Action News Jax app for alerts as news breaks]
[SIGN UP: Action News Jax Daily Headlines Newsletter]
Click here to download the free Action News Jax news and weather apps, click here to download the Action News Jax Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Action News Jax live.