Hurricane Irma: Mandatory evacuations for Florida, Georgia counties

KNOW YOUR ZONE: Northeast Florida, Southeast Georgia evacuation zones

SHELTERS: Jacksonville area shelter information

LINK: Southeast Georgia evacuation routes

Evacuation zones are based on scientific data that includes wave action, precipitation and areas known to flood. Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry is urging people in evacuation zones A and B to leave now before the roads get clogged.

Flood zones are areas of land that are designated by FEMA to be at a high risk for flooding. Flood zones are directly tied to insurance rates and policies. it's important to know where you stand—so you can determine if it's time to go.

Duval County mandatory evacuations 

Officials announced a mandatory evacuation for people in zones A and B in Duval County on Friday. People who live in mobile homes and coastal and low-lying areas are also encouraged to evacuate.

St. Johns County mandatory evacuations

An evacuation order will go into effect for parts of St. Johns County on Saturday, officials said.

County officials said the mandatory evacuation order is for people in zones A and B. The towns of St. Augustine and Hastings are also under the mandatory evacuation.

Hurricane Irma updates

WATCH LIVE: St. Johns County authorities are providing updates on #Irma Evacuation zones: http://bit.ly/2j6dNrt

Posted by Action News Jax on Thursday, September 7, 2017

Four shelters in St. Johns County will open at 6 a.m. Saturday, officials said.

The following shelters will be open to the public:

  • Pacetti Bay Middle School, 245 Meadowlark Ln. (Special needs)
  • Timberlin Creek Elementary School, 555 Pine Tree Ln. (Pet-friendly)
  • Pedro Menendez High School, 600 SR 206 West (General population)
  • Bartram Trail High School, 7399 Longleaf Pine Pkwy. (General population)

Nassau County mandatory evacuations

Nassau County officials said a mandatory evacuation will be issued for people who live in zones A, C and F at 6 p.m. Friday.

Several shelters will also open at 6 p.m., officials said.

Clay County mandatory evacuations

Clay County officials said a mandatory evacuation order for people in zones A, B and C and those who live in low-lying areas will go into effect at 6 a.m. Saturday.

Baker County mandatory evacuations

The Baker County Sheriff's Office has issued a mandatory evacuation of the following areas:

-All residents on Steel Bridge Road, east of the collection site
-All residents on Webb Haven Road
-Persimmon and Ash Road in the Turkey Creek II neighborhood
-Myrtle, Camphor, Chestnut, and Gum Roads
-All residents on the west side of Aspen Road
-All residents on Lil Dixie Trail
-All residents on River Oak Circle
-All residents on River Oak Drive
-All residents on Confederate Drive East
-All residents of Cedar Creek Farms Road

MANDATORY EVACUATION NOTICE We are expecting significant weather-related issues due to potential flooding and the...

Posted by Baker County Sheriff's Office on Saturday, September 9, 2017

Georgia mandatory evacuations

Officials have issued a mandatory evacuation for Georgia's coastal counties.

LATEST: Hurricane Irma maintaining strength, speed; Jose becomes Category 2 hurricane

Georgia's mandatory evacuation is in effect for all areas east of I-95, all of Chatham County and some areas west of I-95 that could be impacted by potential storm surge from Hurricane Irma.

Officials have issued a voluntary evacuation for people who live in Camden County.

Officials said a mandatory evacuation will likely be issued depending on the storm. They are warning residents that there will be no shelters in Camden County because of potential flooding.

Glynn County has called for a mandatory evacuation of all of Glynn County beginning at 8 a.m. Friday. Residents should evacuate immediately.

The Need a Ride program in Glynn County will begin boarding passengers on Sept. 9 at 10 a.m. only at Lanier Plaza, located at 1919 Glynn Avenue, Brunswick, GA.

Busses will leave when filled and no additional trips will be made through the Need a Ride program out of Glynn County for the duration of this evacuation.

A total of 30 Georgia counties are under a state of emergency.

Counties include:

  • Appling
  • Atkinson
  • Bacon
  • Brantley
  • Bryan
  • Bulloch
  • Burke
  • Camden
  • Candler
  • Charlton
  • Chatham
  • Clinch
  • Coffee
  • Echols
  • Effingham
  • Emanuel
  • Evans
  • Glynn
  • Jenkins
  • Jeff Davis
  • Liberty
  • Long
  • McIntosh
  • Pierce
  • Screven
  • Tattnall
  • Toombs
  • Treutlen
  • Wayne
  • Ware

Deal and the State Operation Command Team will hold a news conference Friday morning at 10 a.m. to provide updates on storm preparations.

You can live stream it here.

More information about the mandatory evacuations.

Clay County emergency management personnel announced a state of emergency Thursday. They said evacuations related to Irma are possible.

Hurricane Irma preparations

WATCH LIVE: Rick Scott is in Jacksonville to update Floridians on Hurricane Irma. Evacuation zones, info: http://bit.ly/2j6dNrt

Posted by Action News Jax on Thursday, September 7, 2017
Comments on this article