Mike Buresh wins Federal Alliance for Safe Homes 2024 National Weatherperson of the Year

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — Thank you, viewers! With your help, Action News Jax First Alert Weather Chief Meteorologist Mike Buresh has won a major award.

Buresh has won the 2024 National Weatherperson of the Year award from the Federal Alliance for Safe Homes, or FLASH.


Buresh was up against other finalists, including:

  • Dr. Phil Klotzbach, Colorado State University
  • Bryan Norcross, FOX Weather
  • Nicrondra Norwood, FOX 8 WVUE
  • William (Bill) Read, National Hurricane Center

[DOWNLOAD: Free Action News Jax app for alerts as news breaks]

Previous winners include Jim Cantore from The Weather Channel and Ginger Zee from ABC News.

See how Buresh was surprised with the award by FLASH, his family, and his Action News Jax co-workers starting on FOX30 Action News Jax at 4.

[SIGN UP: Action News Jax Daily Headlines Newsletter]

Click here to download the free Action News Jax news and weather apps, click here to download the Action News Jax Now app for your smart TV and click here to stream Action News Jax live.