Baseball Hall of Fame: Derek Jeter, Larry Walker elected

Baseball Hall of Fame: Derek Jeter, Larry Walker elected
Derek Jeter, now a part owner of the Miami Marlins, led the New York Yankees to seven pennants and five World Series titles. (Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

The Captain was a nearly unanimous choice, and a smooth-hitting outfielder is on a Rocky Mountain high.

Derek Jeter and Larry Walker were announced as the newest members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame on Tuesday. The three players will be inducted July 26 in a ceremony in Cooperstown, New York.

The Class of 2020 will be rounded out by former baseball union leader Marvin Miller and catcher Ted Simmons, who were selected by the Veterans Committee last month.

Content Continues Below

Jeter got 396 of the 397 possible votes, failing to join Mariano Rivera as the only unanimous choice in voting by the Baseball Writers Association of America. Jeter had a career batting average of .310 and collected 3,465 hits during the regular season. He led the New York Yankees to seven American League pennants and five World Series titles. It was Jeter’s first year on the Hall of Fame ballot, and he becomes the 13th player in the last seven years to be enshrined in his first year of eligibility.

Walker, who had a .311 lifetime average was the 1997 National League MVP with the Colorado Rockies and won seven Gold Gloves. He ranks 12th all-time for slugging percentage, ahead of Hall of Famers Hank Aaron, Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays. It was Walker’s 10th and final year of eligibility in balloting by the BBWAA. Walker made the cut by six votes.

Curt Schilling, a six-time all-star, fell short of election. A six-time all-star, Schilling led the National League in wins with 22 for the Diamondbacks in 2001 and led the American League in 2004 with 21 for the Red Sox. he had been eligible for the Hall of Fame since 2013.

Home run champion and seven-time National League MVP Barry Bonds and seven-time Cy Young Award winner Roger Clemens again failed to garner the 75% of the ballots needed for enshrinement. The two players, who have been tainted by allegations of performance-enhancing drug use during the latter stages of their careers, were both in their eighth year of eligibility.