Travel ban reimposed for non-U.S. citizens, expanded to South Africa to stem COVID-19 spread

Travel ban reimposed for non-U.S. citizens to stem COVID-19 spread

WASHINGTON — President Joe Biden has reinstated a travel ban for non-U.S. citizens that had been rescinded by now-former President Donald Trump shortly before he left office.

Trump, on Jan. 18, had ordered the restrictions to end Jan. 26, but Monday, Biden signed a proclamation to rescind the order, Reuters reported.

>> Read more trending news

Content Continues Below

That means non-U.S. citizens who have been to Brazil, Ireland, the UK and most of Europe, which is known as the Schengen Area, will now be denied entry to the U.S., CNN reported.

The proclamation reads in part:

“The entry into the United States, as immigrants or nonimmigrants, of noncitizens who were physically present in the Schengen Area, the United Kingdom (excluding overseas territories outside of Europe), the Republic of Ireland, and the Federative Republic of Brazil during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States, is hereby suspended.”

Click here to read the entire proclamation.

There are several exceptions in the order, CNN reported.

The proclamation also adds South Africa to the list of countries with travel restrictions due to a COVID-19 variant, Reuters reported.

Many of these areas have their own rules regarding travel from the U.S.

The UK stated that U.S. travelers must have a negative COVID-19 test 72 hours prior to their trip. Brazil requires a Declaration of Traveler’s Health, CNN reported.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said 120 countries have mandatory COVID-19 testing, Reuters reported. The department said that travelers should quarantine for at least seven days after returning from international travel and get a new COVID-19 test three to five days after returning home.

Click here for the CDC’s resources for traveling during the pandemic.

More coronavirus pandemic coverage: