Suspended Council members Katrina Brown, Reggie Brown plead not guilty in federal fraud case

Suspended Jacksonville City Council Members Katrina Brown and Reggie Brown entered pleas of not guilty in federal court on Monday.

They are scheduled to go to trial in September.

Katrina Brown and Reggie Brown face a combined 38 counts of federal charges.

They're accused of fraud and money laundering involving tax-funded financial incentives for Katrina Brown's family barbecue sauce business.

Both are being represented by court-appointed attorneys.

The indictment includes allegations that Katrina Brown and Reggie Brown used their companies to create bogus invoices to transfer money back and forth.

Both are charged with one count of conspiracy to commit mail and wire fraud, twenty-six counts of aiding and abetting mail and wire fraud, and six counts of aiding and abetting money laundering.

The indictment also charges Katrina Brown with two counts of attempted bank fraud and two counts of making false statements to a federally insured financial institution.

Reggie Brown is also accused of failing to file a tax return.

Katrina Brown and Reggie Brown face hundreds of years in prison.

If they are found guilty on all charges and receive the maximum sentences, Katrina Brown would be ordered to serve 720 years in federal prison and Reginald Brown would serve 601 years.

They also face millions of dollars in fines.

As their offices sit empty at City Hall, Council President Anna Brosche and Councilman Sam Newby are overseeing Districts 8 and 10.

Councilmen Newby, Reggie Gaffney and Garrett Dennis have taken over the suspended council members’ pending legislation.

Gov. Rick Scott has not yet appointed replacements for Katrina Brown's and Reggie Brown's city council seats.

Forty-five people have applied:

Darrin Williams

Terrance Brisbane

Brenda Priestly Jackson

Ju’coby Pittman

Tameka Holly

Celestine Mills

Terry Fields

Angela Nixon

Christopher Pendleton

Jean Tranquille

Randolph Hall

Charles Barr

James Greiner

Keshan Chambliss

Rahman Johnson

Clarence James

Dwight Brisbane

Niki Brunson

Ralph Chavers

Cornelius Cox

Theresa Graham

King Holzendorf

Kevin Monroe

James Breaker

Richard Camp

Tyrona Clark-Murray

David Cobb

Terrance Freeman

Mark Griffin

Chandra Griffith

Michael Halyard

Leslie Harris

Patricia Lockett-Felder

Kim Perry

Mincy Pollock

Molly Rattigan

Rickie Simon

Barney Spann

Sandra Teel

Nancy Walker

Wirt Washburn

Christian Whitfield

Albert Wilcox

Latangie Williams

Joseph Willis

The governor’s office has not set a deadline for applications.

Comments on this article