Three more Florida counties designated for post-Hurricane Hermine public assistance

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Three more counties in Florida can now request funding from FEMA to cover disaster-related expenses caused by Hurricane Hermine.

Federal assistance has been extended to Columbia, Gadsden and Hernando counties.

The state, local and tribal governments and certain private nonprofits can now request funding through FEMA’s Public Assistance grant program to help pay for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair or rebuilding of roads, bridges, water-control facilities, buildings, equipment, utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

Alachua, Baker, Citrus, Dixie, Franklin, Gilchrist, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union and Wakulla counties were previously designated for FEMA Public Assistance funding.

“The additional federal funding is intended to help Florida’s hard-hit communities recover from the devastation left by Hurricane Hermine,” said Federal Coordinating Officer Terry L. Quarles.

Comments on this article